First structural fund uses for business support post Brexit

Smaller company business support across the UK has been principally been funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). Following Brexit, these programmes will be reaching the end of their funded lives and new monies will be coming from a new scheme from Westminister. The Community Renewal Fund is a transition mechanism as the UK Prosperity Fund is created.

Given Edale’s role in business support, we thought it useful to analyse how the funds were allocated.

Here are some of the interesting trends from the 3 November published announcement based on Edale analysis. A total of £203,208,427 has been allocated to 477 projects. This is regionally split England 61.79%, Scotland 9.07%, Wales 23.06% and Northern Ireland 6.08%.

RegionTotal AmountNumber of Projects
England £125,561,514 225
Northern Ireland £12,362,975 31
Scotland £18,428,681 56
Wales £46,855,257 165
Grand Total £203,208,427 477

England regional allocation descending

England has recieved £125m with the top five regions getting a third of funds. The top 10 regions get 45% of the funds. The big beneficiaries are Devon County Council, Sheffield City Region Combined Authority, Kent County Council, Norfolk County Council and West Midlands Combined Authority.

Devon County Council7.44%
Sheffield City Region Combined Authority6.55%
Kent County Council5.46%
Norfolk County Council5.22%
West Midlands Combined Authority4.27%
Essex County Council3.54%
Greater Manchester Combined Authority3.47%
Nottinghamshire County Council3.14%
Greater London Authority3.02%
Somerset County Council2.90%
Lancashire County Council2.77%
Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority2.70%
Hertfordshire County Council2.60%
Leicester City Council2.38%
Nottingham City Council2.29%
North Northamptonshire Unitary Council2.27%
North Somerset Council2.26%
Liverpool City Region Combined Authority2.24%
Worcestershire County Council2.22%
Stoke-on-Trent City Council2.21%
Warwickshire County Council2.21%
East Sussex County Council2.05%
West Yorkshire Combined Authority2.02%
West of England Combined Authority1.96%
Gateshead Council1.74%
Derbyshire County Council1.59%
Sunderland City Council1.27%
Portsmouth City Council1.27%
Tees Valley Combined Authority1.24%
North of Tyne Combined Authority1.23%
Herefordshire County Council1.23%
Staffordshire County Council1.20%
North Lincolnshire Council1.05%
North East Lincolnshire Council1.03%
Plymouth City Council0.95%
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0.84%
Cornwall Council0.84%
Suffolk County Council0.75%
Durham County Council0.67%
Torbay Council0.65%
Lincolnshire County Council0.65%
Blackpool Council0.62%
North Yorkshire County Council0.61%
Buckinghamshire Council0.61%
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0.55%
Medway Council0.48%
City of York Council0.47%
Isles of Scilly Council0.35%
West Northamptonshire Unitary Council0.27%
Hampshire County Council0.17%
Hull City Council0.16%
Oxfordshire County Council0.13%
Thurrock Council0.08%
Dorset Council0.07%
Grand Total100.00%

Scotland regional allocation descending

North Lanarkshire Council13.70%
Argyll and Bute Council11.02%
Dumfries and Galloway Council8.02%
Scottish Borders Council7.26%
East Ayrshire Council7.05%
Falkirk Council7.01%
North Ayrshire Council6.41%
Glasgow City Council5.59%
South Ayrshire Council5.51%
South Lanarkshire Council4.75%
Inverclyde Council4.50%
Aberdeenshire Council3.98%
Clackmannanshire Council3.18%
East Lothian Council2.37%
Dundee City Council1.88%
West Dunbartonshire Council1.77%
Aberdeen City Council1.66%
Fife Council1.28%
Highland Council1.26%
Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar 0.90%
Perth and Kinross Council0.58%
Edinburgh City Council0.33%
Grand Total100.00%

Wales regional allocation descending

Torfaen County Borough Council8.24%
Carmarthenshire County Council6.29%
Pembrokeshire County Council6.24%
Denbighshire County Council6.17%
Ceredigion County Council6.04%
Newport City Council5.98%
Isle of Anglesey County Council5.81%
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council5.78%
Powys County Council5.72%
Swansea Council5.69%
Gwynedd Council5.68%
Neath Port Talbot Council5.15%
Conwy County Borough Council4.90%
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council4.72%
Monmouthshire County Council4.36%
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council4.21%
Caerphilly County Borough Council2.83%
Vale of Glamorgan Council2.27%
Cardiff Council1.79%
Bridgend County Borough Council1.68%
Wrexham County Borough Council0.47%
Grand Total100.00%

Northern Ireland allocation descending

TieTa Uk Ltd14.74%
Ulster University8.72%
Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council5.56%
Queen’s University Belfast 5.01%
Bryson Care4.56%
Leonard Cheshire4.19%
Active Communities Network4.15%
Mid & East Antrim Borough Council4.14%
Kilcooley Women’s Centre4.13%
NOW Group4.04%
The National Trust3.91%
Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful3.86%
Groundwork Northern Ireland3.83%
South West College3.71%
Women’s Resource & Development Agency3.02%
Extern Northern Ireland2.73%
Business in the Community Northern Ireland 2.67%
Youth Action Northern Ireland 2.53%
Springvale Training Limited2.52%
Kinship Care2.11%
Derry City and Strabane District Council1.95%
Lough Neagh Partnership Ltd1.70%
Network Personnel Ltd1.56%
Belfast City Council0.98%
RNIB NI0.74%
Specialisterne NI CIC0.59%
George Best Belfast City Airport0.48%
Grand Total100.00%

Scroll to Top